Foggia comfortably clear Friday in Texas

Only five riders are within a second of the Italian on Day 1 as the Italian gets the better of Migno in FP2

A time of 2:15.440 from Dennis Foggia (Leopard Racing) in Moto3™ FP2 at the Red Bull Grand Prix of The Americas comfortably handed over the Italian honors on Day 1 by beating compatriot and FP1 leader Andrea Migno (Rivacold Snipers Team) by 0.384 s. Reigning Junior Moto3™ World Champion Daniel Holgado (Red Bull KTM Ajo) moved into the top three with a late afternoon lap when most riders are improving.

Foggia fights his way to the top spot

Spinning alone at the end of FP2, Foggia was able to sit briefly 0.7 seconds behind the chasing pack before Migno caught up to his fellow Italian at the end of the day. Only five riders made a sub-second lap of Foggia which marked his authority in Austin on the opening day of action, with the front two the only riders to achieve lap times under 2 :16.

Garcia, championship leader, outside the top 10

Jaume Masia (Red Bull KTM Ajo) was fourth fastest on Day 1 and having missed most of FP1, Deniz Öncü (Red Bull KTM Tech3) followed up an excellent FP2 to win P5. Kaito Toba (CIP Green Power) in P6 acts as the last driver to get less than a second off Foggia’s searing time. Carlos Tatay (CFMoto Racing PrüstelGP) suffered a heavy crash at Turn 18 in FP2 but the Spaniard was uninjured and finished the day in P7, ahead of Tatsuki Suzuki (Leopard Racing), the 2021 COTA winner Izan Guevara (Gaviota GASGAS Aspar Team) and Ayumu Sasaki (Sterilgarda Husqvarna Max) in the top 10.

World Championship leader Sergio Garcia (Team Gaviota GASGAS Aspar) claimed 11th place on the combined timesheets, 1.1 seconds behind rival Foggia.

Alberto Surra (Rivacold Snipers Team) suffered a nasty highside on the exit of turn 11, the Italian was taken to the medical center for a check-up.

Can anyone catch Foggia when the lights turn green for FP3 at 10:55 local time (GMT-5) Saturday morning? Plug into knowledge.

Top 10:
1. Dennis Foggia (Leopard Racing) – 2:15.440
2. Andrea Migno (Rivacold Snipers Team) +0.384
3. Daniel Holgado (Red Bull KTM Ajo) +0.750
4. Jaume Masia (Red Bull KTM Ajo) +0.917
5. Deniz Oncu (Red Bull KTM Tech3) +0.942
6. Kaito Toba (CIP Green Power) +0.953
7. Carlos Tatay (CFMoto Racing PrüstelGP) + 1.011
8. Tatsuki Suzuki (Leopard Racing) +1.062
9. Izan Guevara (Gaviota GASGAS Aspar Team) +1.087
10. Ayumu Sasaki (Sterilgarda Husqvarna Max) + 1.098

VideoPass lets you watch every second of every sector LIVE and on demand

About Joseph Minton

Check Also

Could the upheaval in the MotoGP rider market put Morbidelli’s Y…

Franco Morbidelli’s rotten form in the opening third of the 2022 MotoGP World Championship showed …