Brembo S p A: When are you too old to win a rally?

With this victory, Loeb became the oldest winner of a World Championship rally. Here is the Top 10 of the most experienced drivers to have won an event.​

10th place Kenneth Eriksson: 41 years and 83 days​

The Swedish driver has won 6 world championship rallies: the first in 1987 and the last ten years later in New Zealand in a Subaru Impreza WRC97. In the 1997 race, he took the lead on the 11th special and maintained this lead until the finish line. Joining him on the podium are the BREMBO Ford Escort WRC driven by Carlos Sainz and Juha Kankkunen, respectively 13 and 19 seconds apart.​ ​

9th place Carlos Sainz: 42 years and 98 days​

Nicknamed the Matador, the Spaniard won 2 world championships before embarking on rally raids (4 victories and 46 stages won in Dakar), including with BREMBO. His last rally victory was in the Citroën Xsara WRC in Argentina in 2004 when he beat the twin car driven by Sebastien Loeb by one minute 32.4 seconds. With this win, he breaks Colin McRae’s old record of 25 wins.

8th place Ingvar Carlsson: 42 years and 107 days​

Despite having contested 42 World Championship rallies, the Swede has long been held back by the use of private cars. Things changed when Mazda believed in him in 1984. He rewarded them by winning two rallies in 1989, one in Sweden and one in New Zealand. This latest victory came after almost 7 hours of racing with a 2 minute 42 second advantage over Rod Millen who also drives a Mazda 323 4WD.

7th place Didier Auriol: 42 years and 219 days

The winner of the 1994 World Championship with Toyota gave his last satisfaction at the 2001 Rally of Catalonia with a Peugeot 206 WRC: 23.2 seconds ahead of his teammate Gilles Panizzi, which earned him the 20th victory of his career. For that, he just had to win 4 stages, half of which were won by Philippe Bugalski who lost several minutes due to a series of problems with his car.

6th place Kenjiro Shinozuka: 44 years and 13 days

Unlike Sainz, the Japanese driver raced for years in the WRC and in Dakar but he did it at the same time and always with Mitsubishi. With the Galant VR-4, he won two editions of the Côte d’Ivoire Rally, the last on the World Championship calendar: in 1991 with a lead of more than two hours over the runner-up, while the following year he happy to beat Bruno Thiry by one hour 23 minutes and 18 seconds.​ ​

5th place Joginder Singh: 44 years and 70 days​

The Kenyan limited his participation in the World Championship to the Safari Rally which he contested every year from 1973 to 1980. He won it in 1974 and in 1976 with the BREMBO Mitsubishi Lancer over distances between 5,200 and 4,950 km per edition. In 1976 he beat fellow Kenyan Robin Ulyate by 24 minutes where Andrew Cowan was third, securing Mitsubishi a memorable hat-trick.

4th place Pentti Airikkala: 44 years and 80 days​

The 1989 World Championship ended with the RAC Rally but Miki Biasion and the BREMBO Lancia spared themselves a trip to England since they were already mathematically champions. Of the 55 stages, 22 were won by the Finn at the wheel of a Mitsubishi Galant VR-4, but he only took the lead on the penultimate stage after a long wait behind Carlos Sainz. The Spaniard’s setbacks allowed Airikkala to win with 1 minute 28 seconds.

3rd place Hannu Mikkola: 44 years and 331 days​

​The Finn won eighteen rallies over a period of 13 years, from 1974 to 1987. He won the last 10 rallies in an Audi with which he became world champion in 1983. The easiest victory with the Four Rings, at least in terms of Last Advantage, seems to have been the Safari Rally at the wheel of a 200 Quattro: indeed, he finished 17 minutes and 15 seconds ahead of Walter Rohrl and more than 51 minutes on third place. .​ ​

2nd place Bjorn Waldegard: 46 years and 155 days​

The Swede remained the oldest winner of a World Championship Rally for 31 years. His career is endless as evidenced by his first world championship victory in 1975 with Lancia. His last victory dates back to 1990 at the Safari Rally with a Toyota Celica GT-Four. 59 drivers started but only 10 finished with Waldegard almost in a single race as he finished 38 minutes ahead of second place, 2 hours 47 minutes ahead of third place and 4 hours 20 minutes ahead of fourth place.

1st place Sébastien Loeb: 47 years and 331 days

The launch of the new Rally1 hybrids is marked by a duel between the two Sébastiens. Ogier wins the first 2 specials and Loeb wins the next 4 and takes control. His fellow Frenchman responded by winning 8th and 10th: by then the two were neck and neck. After winning the 11th and finishing well in the following stages, Ogier lay down 21 seconds ahead. Loeb won the penultimate stage but lost time on the next one. It looked like Ogier was going to win but then he punctured the front left on the penultimate stage, losing 34 seconds in one blow that proved decisive. For Loeb, it was the 80th victory in the world championship and the 8th in Monte-Carlo.


Brembo SpA published this content on February 08, 2022 and is solely responsible for the information contained therein. Distributed by Public, unedited and unmodified, on February 09, 2022 10:58:06 AM UTC.

Public now 2022

All the news from BREMBO SPA

Sales 2021 2,722 million
Net income 2021 214M
Net debt 2021 503M
575 million
575 million
PER 2021 ratio 18.0x
2021 performance 1.95%
Capitalization 3,819 million
EV / Sales 2021 1.59x
EV / Sales 2022 1.40x
# of employees 11,539

Duration :

Period :

Brembo SpA Technical Analysis Chart |  MarketScreener

Trends Technical Analysis BREMBO SPA

Short term Middle term Long term
Tendencies Bearish Neutral Bullish

Evolution of the income statement

To sell

To buy

Medium consensus HOLD
Number of analysts seven
Last closing price


Average target price


Average Spread / Target 6.51%

About Joseph Minton

Check Also

KTM 450 Rally Replica back to dominate the dirt in 2023

Rally-inspired styling is the current trend in the adventure bike market. Competitors such as the …