2022 World Cup qualifiers: Sadio Mane to headline Senegal squad for Salah showdown

Senegal head coach Aliou Cisse has named his squad to face Egypt in the knockout round of the 2022 World Cup qualifiers.

Sadio Mane, Kalidou Koulibaly, Idrissa Gueye, Bouna Sarr and Cheikhou Kouyate headline the squad named by the reigning African champions.

Injured goalkeepers Seny Dieng and Alfred Gomis, who were substitutes for Cissé’s Nations Cup side, are out, with Casa Sports’ Alioune Badara Faty and Charleroi’s Bingourou Kamara named in their place.

Real Betis’ Youssouf Sabaly is included after missing out on the Nations Cup.

The Teranga Lions and the Pharaohs will meet for the first leg on March 25 in Cairo before the second leg, which is due to take place at the Diamniadio Olympic Stadium in Dakar, on March 29.

Record-breaking African champions Egypt will surely have revenge on their minds after resuming hostilities with Senegal less than two months after being beaten by them in the Afcon final at Olembe Stadium, Yaounde.

Recently, Egypt head coach Carlos Queiroz revealed nine foreign-based players who have been invited to join the predominantly home-grown squad for the double-header against Senegal.

Yeni Malatyaspor’s Karim Hafez, Arsenal’s Mohamed Elneny, Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah, Al Taawoon’s Mostafa Fathy and Galatasaray’s Mostafa Mohamed are among the guests.

The others are Ahmed Hassan Kouka from Konyaspor, Ahmed Yasser Rayan from Altay, Omar Marmoush from VfB Stuttgart and Mahmoud Trezeguet from Istanbul Basaksehir FK.

Squad of Senegal:

Defenders: Edouard Mendy (Chelsea), Alioune Badara Faty (Casa Sports), Bingourou Kamara (Charleroi).

Defenders: Bouna Sarr (Bayern Munich), Saliou Ciss (Nancy), Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli), Pape Abou Cissé (Olympiacos), Abdou Diallo (Paris Saint-Germain), Youssouf Sabaly (Real Betis), Fode Ballo Touré (AC Milan), Abdoulaye Seck (Antwerp)

Midfielders: Pape Matar Sarr (Metz), Pape Gueye (Olympique de Marseille), Nampalys Mendy (Leicester City), Idrissa Gana Gueye (Paris Saint-Germain), Moustapha Name (Paris FC), Loum Ndiaye (Deportivo Alaves), Cheikhou Kouyate (Crystal Palace).

Attackers: Sadio Mane (Liverpool), Ismaila Sarr (Watford), Bamba Dieng (Marseille), Keita Balde (Cagliari), Boulaye Dia (Villarreal), Famara Diedhiou (Alanyaspor), Mame Baba Thiam (Kayserispor), Habib Diallo (Strasbourg).

About Joseph Minton

Check Also

KTM 450 Rally Replica back to dominate the dirt in 2023

Rally-inspired styling is the current trend in the adventure bike market. Competitors such as the …